November Expat to Expat – Loving Where I Am

Ok I am sure you are so sick of reading about me being sick yet again but believe me we are even sicker of it over here!

Either way though I am excited to be doing another month of Expat to Expat and see what you have to say as well!

Q1: What advice would you give to your pre-expat self?

I would tell myself that I was making the smart choice, to just enjoy my time before the move. It all seemed so much and it was so easy to let those ideas of doubt creep in but now over two years on I am so in love with living in Sweden that those doubts are no more. The number one thing I was worried about was that the close relationship I had with my brothers would suffer and while I do not get to see all their games and award presentations this summer we picked right up where we left off.

Werner and me

Q2: How do you reconcile what you thought life would be like in your new home and it is in actuality? i.e. did you think you would be fluent in your new language and your are struggling with the basics?

I think life is exactly and not at all like I thought it would be at the same time. I mean I am sure that does not make sense but that is how I feel. I knew my life would be a slower paced lifestyle with less of the going out, shopping, and family time like it was back in California but I did not know how much I would like it. I also did not realize the extent in which I would grow and change and how my future plans would change along with it. I had always wanted to live in a big city and that is what we had been putting on our one day list but ever since we moved up here to Sundsvall and have been surrounded by forest and hills we have really changed our tune and a place surrounded by nature is our goal now.

me and mountains

20 thoughts on “November Expat to Expat – Loving Where I Am

  1. This is such a great post. I think it shows that life is constantly changing, and so are we. It was such a brave step to move to Sweden, but I’m so glad it worked out for you guys.

    I’m sorry you’re feeling sicky still. Hope you recover soon xxx

  2. I have constantly been sick lately too! Maybe there’s a blogging virus :) Enjoy all the nature while you can because you’ll probably miss it when you move to a bigger city! x

  3. Isn’t it amazing what you find out about yourself after you have a few months/years to reflect on it? We live in what is basically a suburb, which I learned was not as soul-sucking as I felt it was in the US. I’d still like to move back into the city, but this hasn’t been horrible like I feared. =)
    Sorry to hear you’re still sick. More tea and relaxation! =)

  4. I know exactly what you mean – it’s is exactly like and not at all what I thought it would be like. You’re so right about learning about yourself too. It’s so worth it just for that. I’ve been sick as a dog too. I think Amanda’s right. Blogger virus.

  5. Funny how an experience like that makes you realise things about your self that you never knew. Although where I live has quite a rural feel, being right on Lake Ontario, but it is in fact a suburb and I would never have thought I would enjoy living in the ‘burbs’ quite as much as I do!

  6. Oh gosh, changing goals is a great one to mention! I am forever changing mine. And when I left the UK 2 years ago, I never dreamed I’d be planning to move to SE Asia in 2014!
    I know how you feel about your brothers, I had the same with my siblings but we pick up right where we left off too!

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!