Meals of the Week – Mixing Up Meal Ingredients for Something New

When I did this weeks meal plan it was very cold and grey out so it is jam packed with comforting and totally not healthy food!

Monday – Mince and Mozzarella Italian Pasta Bake

Tuesday – Chicken Stroganoff with Rice

Wednesday – Chicken and Broccoli Puff Pastry Pies – never did them last week

Thursday – Pork Chili and Cheesy Fries

Friday – Crunchy Tacos and Refried Beans

Saturday  – BBQ Chicken with Ranchero Rice

______________________

Last week I had curry on the meal plan but all that day I was not in the mood for curry and then Mr. H came home with some beers and in a really cheery mood since he got Friday off work so decided to switch up the meals.

That is the great thing with meal planning though, sometimes it is just having ingredients at hand rather than cooking what is next in line.

I had already defrosted the chicken so we threw out some ideas and ended up with fajitas. It ended up working like this:

ingredient mix up

I used the main curry ingredients and the main fajita ingredients then used cupboard staples to make a marinade and then some of the ingredients for the next days meal to round it out. The ingredients I used from the Spicy Coleslaw Pork Wraps was enough to go around the next day so that meal was still on plan. Nothing went to waste from the curry meal as the coconut milk and curry paste will stay good for another day.

And that is why I love meal planning you have everything ready to go for meals you love and save money and time in the process.

9 thoughts on “Meals of the Week – Mixing Up Meal Ingredients for Something New

  1. I love reading your meal plans! I wish we were neighbors so we could swap meal ideas and have big mugs of coffee and play games and craft together! But being blogging neighbors is better than not being neighbors at all!

  2. I like the way you meal plan! Once I started doing in on the regular I was amazed not only at the money I was saving but the waste I was cutting down on. Maybe it seems really housewife-y (says my fiance) but I don’t care– at some point it becomes a necessity!

  3. I love meal planning and do it on a weekly basis. Like you, where I was the weather was damp and cold, so I fixed a lot of comfort meals. I ended up with Shepherd’s Pie, Potato Soup, two different versions of chili, and an Italian sausage & tortellini soup. The good thing about those meals is that they were all freezable and because of that they won’t go to waste since I cook a full meal just for myself.

  4. I tried so hard to do meal planning when I lived in the UK, but the ex-husband was always on a new diet of some type which meant I always ended up cooking two meals or I lived on plates of meat with not much else. The first thing I’m doing when I move in to my own place is coming back here and checking out all of your meal plans!

  5. The spicy pork cole slaw wraps sound tasty!! I like nice cozy meals, especially when it is all grey out. I made a cheeseburger casserole dish this week, just because I wanted something a bit homey/cozy even though it is not cold out :)

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

