Meals of the Week – Thai Red Curry

I tried something new last week, each time I or Mr. H said something sounded good I wrote it on the list on the fridge so this week I already had three meals planned! Made it easy and now I am really excited to eat them.

Monday – Pork Loin, Rice Pilaf, and Green Beans

Tuesday – Kassler and Potatoes au Gratin

Wednesday – Tuna Noodle Casserole

Thursday – Chicken Broccoli Braided Flat Pie

Friday – Pizza

Saturday – Soft Tacos

Sunday – Cottage Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Monday – Chicken and Rice Surprise – Mr. H will be working so I will make something featuring chicken, rice, and all the bits and bobs left from the week

__________________________

Thai Red Curry

This started out as a Mr. H recipe, he was in the mood for something different and found a recipe on a Swedish site. Well that was over two years ago and now I have tweaked it here and there and made it my own and I highly doubt Mr. H will be cooking it again!

Ingredients:

1 lb / 450 grams meat –  I usually use either two chicken breast or one pork loin

1 can coconut milk

1 green bell pepper – diced

1 leek – cut in half and then sliced

1 tbsp sugar

3 tbsp red curry paste

1 chicken bouillon cube

juice from 1/2 lime

1/2 – 1 cup water

flour

salt and pepper

oil

What to do:

Cut the meat into bite size pieces

Season the meat with salt and pepper then toss with flour in a high sided bowl

Heat the oil in a medium size pot (I use my dutch oven)

Brown the meat in batches and set aside

In the same pot combine the curry paste, coconut milk, sugar, bouillon cube, and lime juice and bring to a boil

Add the browned meat to the mixture and add the water so the meat is covered in sauce

Simmer for 10-15 minutes stirring occasionally

While that is simmering gently cook the leek and bell pepper in a separate pan adding to the curry in the last few minutes

Serve over rice with lime wedges and sriracha

8 thoughts on “Meals of the Week – Thai Red Curry

  1. Oh these posts always make me hungry and also jealous of you for being a proper grown up who cooks meals every night! I tend to make a pot of soup on Sunday and live off it all week unless I’m going out – the lazy person’s guide to being vaguely healthy!

    • One both sides of my family there has been people supporting themselves through cooking so it is in my genes! Many of the things I post would last through the week easily, or you could freeze half and have it for later!

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

