Do You Understand My Words?

Agatha Christie Quote

 

I read this line last week in the collection of short stories by Agatha Christie I was reading and had to read it out to Mr. H immediately and then could not stop thinking about it.

When I blog I am often so sure of what I want to say but putting it down into words on the screen distorts it slightly and then once it is read it once again gets distorted so I wonder how much of my meaning is felt.

That is how words are though they are uncertain things, we can use them for good and bad and so much in between. We can also  feel that our words do not matter, that we will make no difference with them but I do not think that is true.

I think that even when I get discouraged about blogging putting my ideas and words out for others to read is important. It is important for all stories to be heard even if they are about a housewife in the middle of nowhere Sweden as my life is meaningful and therefore my words are as well.

So I will keep blogging even though I sometimes agonize over the words or what people will think I mean and you should do the same.

15 thoughts on “Do You Understand My Words?

  1. I love this! It’s so true and so relevant for bloggers and writers alike. I agonise over the words I use when writing a lot and I think it’s totally normal. I can imagine it’s something anyone who writes struggles with!

  2. Since I’m often so sarcastic in my blog posts, I often wonder if people are going to interpret them correctly. I think it’s so hard sometimes to say exactly what we mean, but try not to worry about it too much :) people who know you will know what you mean yo say, and that’s what’s important!

  3. This is why I ended up scrapping so many blog posts…I don’t want them to be taken in a way I don’t mean…That being said, I think that your position and location are two of the things that make your voice interesting!

  4. I can so relate to this! I am always second guessing what I write, especially when I do posts that are about life + love (they tend to be more subjective than my other posts).

    This part was so relatable for me: “When I blog I am often so sure of what I want to say but putting it down into words on the screen distorts it slightly and then once it is read it once again gets distorted so I wonder how much of my meaning is felt.”

    Keep on blogging, I love your place!

  5. So agree. Sometimes the way you phrase things can give completely different meanings. I definitely overthink how I write, especially when I’m sharing my thoughts on feminism, racism, etc. because you have to be aware of the opposing arguments and the criticisms people make. I want it to be apparent that I’m conscious of the opposing view, without weakening my arguments by turning them into qualifiers.

    • I wrote a post a few months ago about putting disclaimers on blog posts and I think this ties into also how we write. Do we use words that are bold and make a stand or ones that seem weak or that we could go either way on a topic.

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

