Some of the Best Posts are Oldies

While I am enjoying family time I am very lucky to have some wonderful guest posts. I have asked them to share one of their favorite posts. I know that some posts we have a special place for and it is great to get them out in the open again for a new audience.

With that I am sharing an old favorite of mine!

The Hemborg Wife

But What About the Granite Countertops?

May 2011

Each week it seems like I am having a little mini breakdown in regards to moving. Since we sent in my application the breakdowns have been as varied as a girl going through puberty.

Last week it was because when we move I will not be able to just get in my car and drive to Target. Yes, it was ridiculous but it felt like losing a little part of my independence. In Sweden I will be able to walk or take the bus to an equivalent style store but it did not seem the same to me in the moment.

When I calmed down and talked it out with Mr. Hemborg he gave me a major confidence boost with how moving to a foreign country is showing how much independence I have on the grander scale.

This week it was when we were talking about the logistics of shipping our stuff. (Side note anyone that has moved their personal belongings via cargo ship please let me know) It is a scary process since neither of us has ever done it. Then it brought up all these emotions of now that we are just getting established what are we doing packing everything up and shipping it away.

Part of us just wants to say screw it we can always get new things but mostly what I want to come with us is wedding presents and my great grandmothers china. Those are not just go to the store and replace type of items.

The other thing getting to us I think is the American ideal of what should happen now that we are married. It seems like ok now it is time to buy a house with granite counter tops in a nice neighborhood, then once we have personalized the house we can start trying to get pregnant.

That ideal is not us though.

While I am sure that works out great for others we are more of your live in a city with a balcony that has great view sort of couple. It is hard though to see how the move is getting us closer to our dreams when we see our friends working towards their house in the suburbs dreams all around us.

What calmed me and us down from this last breakdown was googling images and things to do in the city we want to move to in Sweden.

At this stage it is all very “eyes on the gold” and “in it to win it”.

__________________

Hope you liked this glimpse into an old post of mine and you will enjoy what the other bloggers have in store!

4 thoughts on “Some of the Best Posts are Oldies

  1. It is cool to get to see that little glimpse of what you were feeling before your move. P and I are the same way about future goals, our lives will never mirror that of most of the people will know. We just don’t have the same goals.

  2. I love this idea! It’ll be cool to see what other bloggers choose to share for their old posts. I often go back & read my archives, because it reminds me of where I was mentally at any given time. Very interesting!

  3. Thanks for sharing the older posts. For those of us who have not been following long it is still “new” posts!:):)

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

