Meals of the Week – Cottage Mac n’ Cheese

Happy Monday! This week only 6 meals planned since on Sunday we will be eating with my grandparents. Ok I know I talked it about non-stop yesterday but I am just so excited about it!

Jessica Lynn Writes
Tuesday – Beef Stroganoff – I usually use strips of beef but this week am going cheap with mince hopefully it turns out good
Wednesday – Hot Dogs and Fries
Thursday – Chow Faux Mein
Friday – Hawaiian BBQ Taquitos – recipe here, I use crushed pineapple instead of cubed but they are delicious and I highly reccomend them
Saturday – Ancho Chili and Coffee Marinated Pork Loin (pre-done from the store) and Potato Salad (also pre-done) – we are keeping this meal easy since after we will be walking to town to wait for my family!
Sunday – Family Day
__________________________________
Cottage Mac n' Cheese
I made this recipe two weeks in a row switching out proteins and veggies and each time I was so sad I had to share! I am divided the ingredients into a mandatory and optional category and will do the recipe with bacon and chili option even though pictured above is the kassler and mushroom option
Mandatory Ingredients:
250 grams cottage cheese
1 onion thinly sliced
2 garlic cloves crushed
1 cup shredded cheese divided into 3/4 cups and 1/4 cup
500 grams pasta
1/4 cup breadcrumbs
Milk – the amount will depend on how thick your cottage cheese is
salt and pepper
Optional Ingredients:
mushrooms
red chili
bacon – I used 8 slices
kassler/ham
chicken
bell pepper
etc
What To Do:
Pre-heat oven to 175 C
 Boil Noodles till just al dente
Saute onion, bacon, garlic, and chili till onion is softened and bacon is cooked but not crispy
In a food processor blend cottage cheese, salt, pepper and milk – You want a smooth and loose sauce, I start with a little milk and add till the mixture is the right consistency
Combine cottage cheese sauce, shredded cheese, onion mixture, and noodles
Pour the covered noodles into baking dish
Mix the breadcrumbs with remaining shredded cheese and sprinkle over noodles
Bake until golden and bubbly
16 thoughts on “Meals of the Week – Cottage Mac n’ Cheese

  1. This looks so delicious, though quite daring as well! I’ll have to give it a try sometime. We had mac & cheese last night… out of a Kraft blue box. ha, lame! After being in the hospital and then away, I just couldn’t resist some comfort food. :)

  2. Okay, I need your recipe for Beef Stroganoff, because the one time i made it, it was so horrible that I vowed to never make it again (but I hate only trying a recipe once and giving up on it…)

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

