Meals on Monday – Sweet and Sour Pork

Hello! I surprised myself with being done with our meal plan and shopping list in like 10 minutes this week, well I guess it helped that Mr. H picked out 3 of the meals and said lets wait and do something special for Saturday so I only had to come up with three ideas of my own!

Jessica Lynn Writes
Sunday – Beef and Onion Gravy Pie
Monday – Stroganoff with Rice
Tuesday – Kassler Pasta Bake – If you are in Sweden and are interested in a kassler meal let me know and I will post this recipe
Wednesday – Mini Meatloaves and Mashed Potatoes
Thursday – Spaghetti Bolognese
Friday – Cheesy Ham Oven Sandwiches and Coleslaw
Saturday – Surprise Day
_________________
I had planned on doing a recipe on the Chow Faux Mein was making last week but once it was done we were so hungry no pictures were taken so instead how about some Sweet and Sour Pork! This recipe is adapted from Joy of Cooking which is one reason I love that cookbook so much is the recipes are so easy to individualize!
sweet and sour pork
Ingredients:
1 lb Pork cut into chunks or strips – if you are in Sweden karre is perfect for this as is picnic bog – if you are in the somewhere else use whatever cut of pork you love
1 cup pineapple juice – from straining the can of pineapple chunks listed below
1 cup water
1/2 cup cider vinegar
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp cornstarch
2 tbsp soy sauce
optional 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce – if I happen to have it I use it but otherwise I just use Maggi otherwise just the soy sauce is fine
1 cup pineapple pieces
1 bell pepper cut into strips
1/2 diced onion
What to do:
Season the pork with salt and pepper and then brown in a large skillet
Set the meat aside in a bowl
In the same skillet add the:
pineapple juice, water, cider vinegar, brown sugar, cornstarch, soy sauce, and Worcestershire sauce
Slowly stir to combine and then bring to a simmer and let simmer till slightly thickened
Return meat the skillet with the sauce and the simmer covered until the meat is tender – the time will depend on your cut of meat but about 40 min – 1 hr
Once meat is tender add in the pineapple pieces, bell pepper and onion
Cook uncovered about ten minutes
Serve with rice
12 thoughts on “Meals on Monday – Sweet and Sour Pork

  1. This looks good! We rarely have pork for dinner outside of bacon or sausage, this is something to think about. I love the Joy of Cooking…I like how it gives so much information about the cuts of meats and general preparation of items in the beginning of each section.

  2. That looks delicious! I am terrible at meal planning. At least officially. I tried it, and it worked well, but I just can’t get my act together to actually keep up with it!

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

