Meals of the Week – Meatball Subs

After being on vacation meal planning is just so hard, the cupboards and fridge are bare on purpose giving you not much to work with and I am just dreaming of those giant pizzas I blogged about yesterday. Alas one cannot survive on dreams so after some pouting I have a plan!
Jessica Lynn Writes
Monday – Lovbiff and Fries – ok so these were the two easily edible things lurking in the freezer
Tuesday – Creamy Tomato, Spinach, and Sausage Pasta
Wednesday – Sweet and Sour Pork – Joy of Cooking recipe which is just perfect
Thursday – Chow Faux Mein – recipe coming soon – also Mr. H came up with the name
Friday – Pork and Rice Burritos
Saturday – Nachos
Sunday – End of Week Chili and Rice – All the odds and ends into the pot and serve with rice!
______________________________
meatball subs
Last week I shared a recipe for meatballs in tomato sauce served over spaghetti noodles and today I am sharing how to use that recipe to make meatball subs!
Ingredients:
15-20 meatballs – homemade or store bought
Tomato Sauce – Around 3 cups – it really depends on how soaked you like them!
Mozzarella Cheese
Rolls
What to Do:
Prepare your rolls
What we do is buy the pack of baguettes that are meant to be heated in the oven. I first slice them in half and then carve out a niche for the filling and then heat them in the oven till lightly browned.
baguette ready for filling
To do this cut a straight line across one side of the baguette, or roll or whatever bread you have, and then from the inner end make a slightly curved cut out and then scoop out the bread between the two cuts like making a little canoe in the bread.
This makes a stable base for filing of any kind as well as making them easy to transfer from baking dish to plate.
Once meatballs are cooked and sauce is heated through fill your bread and cover with cheese and bake.
Super easy meal and great for a Friday night playing games and drinking beer!

8 thoughts on “Meals of the Week – Meatball Subs

  1. This is a great idea for a fun, tasty meal – I was just trying to think of a new dinner idea for Hubby, and this is perfect!

  2. I am always vey impressed at how organized you are!
    I sort of plan the week in my head, but it is always subject to change!

    On Thursdays we always have soup so I just pick a veg that is on offer at the store and make a soup from that, or I just take some out of the freezer that I made before.

    On fridays we always have either burgers or mexican food.

    At weekends we always go to my parents in law for dinner and I normally do big breakfasts in the morning.

    So I only need to think for Mondays,Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and we always eat vegetarian at home (exept for Fridays) so I normally just find something I fancy online and make it!

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!