Meals of the Week – Meaty PapGoul (Yes I Invented that Word)

Happy Tuesday!

In many parts of the world, Sweden included, today is a day of special treats. Here it is day of the Semla Bun which Mr. H loves but I am not such a fan of  so I will be sticking with the candy bar I was surprised with last night!

Now onto the meals!

Sunday – Spicy Marinated Pork Minestrone Stoup – recipe coming soon

Monday – Chicken Stir Fry

Tuesday – Mince and Potato Gratin

Wednesday – Hot Dogs and Potato Balls – yes again!

Thursday – Easy Pork Mozzarella Bake

Friday – Chicken Pasta Salad

Saturday – BBQ Chicken Sandwiches with Coleslaw

____________________

papgoul

Meaty PapGoul

This is a recipe I have been tweaking each time I make it and while it may not be the prettiest looking meal it is really tasty and hearty on cold nights.

Ingredients:

1-1 1/2 lbs cubed meat – I have used veal, pork, and beef so use what you have on hand or prefer. The great thing is that you will be simmering the sauce so a cheap cut of meat is great.

1 onion diced

1 bell pepper cut into strips

2 garlic cloves diced

400 grams crushed tomatoes – I use the ICA Basic tetra pak but if you are in the US  1 can large can would work great I think

1 cup tomato passerade (tomato puree) – This helps thicken the sauce and makes it more like an Austrian Goulash but without it the sauce is more like a gravy so go with what you think you would like.

1 1/2 tbsp paprika powder

1 beef bouillon cube

Maggi Liquid Seasoning – This is a wonderful sauce that I grew up having and now always have on stock but if you do not have it or do not want to buy it a very small dash of soy sauce would be ok.

Cornstarch

Salt and Pepper

Creme Fraiche – Optional, I love adding a bit at the end but Mr. H does not really care either way.

What To Do:

Rub into meat 1 tbsp of the paprika powder, salt and pepper

Brown meat in dutch oven and set aside

In dutch oven cook until softened onion, garlic, and bell pepper

Season with remaining paprika, salt, pepper, and bouillon cube and couple of dashes of Maggi

Slowly add in passerade scraping up any bits of brown on the bottom of pan

Add in crushed tomatoes and meat

Stir to incorporate all flavors and ingredients

Slowly add in 1 – 2 cups water depending on how much sauce you want

Bring to a boil then turn down heat and cover let simmering until meat is tender

Make a cornstarch slurry and thicken to desired amount  – I love a really thick sauce but if you are reheating leftovers in a microwave you will want a thinner sauce to start with as it will thicken overnight and cornstarch is hard to reheat via microwave but if reheating on a stove it is ok

Serve over noodles or rice with a little dollop of creme fraiche on top

Due to the hearty nature of the PapGoul I recommend a slightly tangy side like cucumber salad

I hope you enjoy and please let me know if you make it or have any questions!

8 thoughts on “Meals of the Week – Meaty PapGoul (Yes I Invented that Word)

  1. Despite the “eating with ones eyes” thing, I find that a lot of food that looks messy, tastes the most comforting. That sounds delicious!

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

