Even Better Chocolate and Stubbed Toes – Foul Language Follow Up

Now let us start with the really good stuff. Remember last week I was like o goodness this Marabou white chocolate is so heavenly. Well this one is so good I could eat the package it came in.

Photo on 9-24-13 at 12.28 PM

Ok actually that just tasted like cardboard so I do not recommend eating the package but my o my the chocolate inside of it was divine. We wanted to up the ante in our chocolate eating excursion and wanted something to go with the beer, cheese, meat extravaganza we had this Marabou Cocoa Sea Salt Pecan was just yummm yummm yumm!

Now onto the other stuff of bad language and stubbed toes!

I loved each and everyone of the comments on my post regarding what language gets excluded from blogging. One thing I noticed was that so many people said they do not use any words in their life considered to be foul, bad, offensive or otherwise. Now I do not think anyone was going around typing falsehoods but it got me to wondering.

Say you are walking along and stub your toe, what do you do? Do you just say “O fuddlesticks” or in that case do you say “O crap”?

Or how about this one: You go on a nice vacation and upon coming home you see one of your great grandfathers whiskey glasses in pieces in the trash bin? Honestly what do you say then?

And if you say something along the lines of “bon of a stitch” or even “blast” is that not your own version of bad language? Is what makes a word bad when it is used, what society says it means, or what?

In the Stephen Fry documentary I mentioned in my previous post they did an experiment with pain and language. The results were that if one was able to use language commonly thought of to be adverse they could endure their hand being plunged into icy water longer than if they could not.

So tell me what you think about this; do you think language can be acceptable at certain times but you would not use it consistently?

8 thoughts on “Even Better Chocolate and Stubbed Toes – Foul Language Follow Up

  1. Funny, I actually saw that study about foul language actually helping with pain a while back (I feel like Mythbusters did a experiment on it?) and because of that, reasoned that I should occasionally allow myself to say whatever I need. Out of habit, I don’t swear much at all in normal conversation. I work with kids a lot, so having “clean” habits are generally just safer for me. (Although, I’m constantly realizing that this isn’t SUCH a big deal in Europe — though I’m still not all that comfortable with it.) Ultimately though, it just doesn’t feel true to myself for me to say anything more than PG13 words in daily conversation. But if I burn my hand on boiling macaroni water like I did two nights ago? You can bet the F word will be used. Probably more than once.

    Good topic you’ve gotten on here! I’ve studied linguistics on and off for years, so comparing my normal with people from elsewhere is definitely fascinating to me.

    • Thank you, I also love linguistics and is often a topic of conversation in our house! I also loved your example of the boiling macaroni and I am sure it felt so good to just let out the anger and pain via language, especially since in your own home it is not hurting anyone!

  2. Hahaha, loved this post. I drop f bombs all the time and recently posted a photo of my favorite coffee mug on Instagram: “Good F-ing Morning”. I occasionally swear when I’m writing posts but I try not to do it too often. I’m not going to be fake on my blog and if people are offended, I guess they don’t have to read it. :)

    I never swear at work, dinner, around family members, etc – but when I’m walking around and I stub my toe, you can bet I’ll be screaming the f-word.

    • I love that mug! It was a big change when I met my husband and he never cussed a lot but also never censored himself around anyone and our second Christmas together he sent his parents a card that said “Merry Fucking Christmas” because he thought it was funny!

  3. Hmm, this is really interesting. I try really hard not to use bad language (watching the wire for a university course nearly changed that!) and I guess in general I just try to control my tongue – because honestly saying “shoot” instead of “s***” sounds so similar and it becomes just as bad, in my mind. I try stick with “OOOOOWWWWW” for stubbed toes and “NOOOOOOO” for broken glasses… but it’s a battle ;)

    • I love that you agree switching words makes them the same for all intents and purposes! I also commend you on following what is important to you as it can be hard to follow through with at times.

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

