A to Z All About Books Survey

As you may know I love to read. Wait no love is not quite right it is most likely more accurate to say I am obsessed with books. They are all over my house and there are tons at my grandmas just waiting to get shipped to me! So when I saw this on Anna Reads (originally from The Perpetual Page Turner) I knew I had to do it too. Seeing as I am a bit crazy about books though I wanted to wait so I could have the time and concentration to do it right!

Author you’ve read the most books from:
Per Goodreads I have read 32 Agatha Christie which I am quite proud about, my goal is read everything she wrote even the books under her pen name Mary Westmacott.

Best Sequel Ever:

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare, I loved the series so much and have recomended to anyone that will listen.

Currently Reading:

Death in the Air by Agatha Christie. I just started this when we got home as I wanted something comfortable but jet lag as made it so I am only a few pages in so far.

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Tea: strong, sugary, milky tea in a giant mug.

E-reader or Physical Book?
I am all about the physical book, I especially like to read used books and think of who read it first and what they thought of it.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated in High School:
Adrian Ivashkov from The Vampire Academy and Bloodlines Series by Richelle Mead. I was always drawn to the wilder set of guys, and whenever I read his character and I am a smitten kitten!

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:
Maise Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear, I thought they would be a bit dry but I have fallen in love with the series and love learning about World War I via the books.

Hidden Gem Book:
Last year I read both The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets by Eva Rice and The Truth About Melody Browne by Lisa Jewell which I thought were so amazing and I just happened to stumble across them in the library. I am not sure if in the UK they were big or what but I encourage you to find a copy of both and get ready to stay up all night reading.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

Finding the English section of the library when we moved to Sundsvall, for a library in Sweden it is quite big and they even have a YA Section. Like I said though it is a section not a whole library so I have had to step out of my normal go to books and have found some real gems in there that I would never have found back at home in California.

Just Finished:
Got Your Number by Stephanie Bond, it was on one of the many bookcases in my grandparents house and turned out to be a perfect easy summer read.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:
I tend to stay clear of super creepy murdery type books, if something gruesome is graphically written out I will have nightmares for sure.

Longest Book You’ve Read:
The Forbidden Game by L.J. Smith, honestly it was horrible but somehow I managed all 750 pages just to see if there were any redeeming parts.

Major book hangover because of:
Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare, after I finished it and I knew the series was over I told Mr. H I was feeling very despondent. I just did not want to let go of the characters and world she created in the Infernal Devices series.

Number of Bookcases You Own:
Two big ones in the living room, one small in the kitchen, a console in the hallway where I keep library books, and then books are stacked and placed all over the house too.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:
The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton, I acquired my copy around the age of ten and have read many time since. Wow thinking about it I have probably read it about 12 times!

Preferred Place To Read:
My couch, it is next to our giant picture windows with a view of the forest and if I sit just right I can reach my tea on the window ledge.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:
My copy of On the Road is marked and highlighted from all the various readings I have done and there is a line that I always identify with as with all my moving about I have experienced it over and over again.

“I didn’t know who I was – I was far away from home, haunted and tired with travel.”

Jack Kerouac

Reading Regret:
That I did not start tracking what books I was reading at an earlier age, my best guess is that I have read somewhere around 400 individual books in my lifetime but I will never truly know the answer!

Series You Started and Need to Finish (all books are out in series):
I know that there are some in The Lily Bard Mysteries and Aurora Teagarden Mysteries series by Charlaine Harris I have not read but they are hard to come by so eventually I will read them once I find them!

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:
On the Road by Jack Kerouac as it spoke to me so much in college, Paris to the Moon by Adam Gopnik as it showed a very real side of being an expat, and Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton as my mother challenged me to read it at age 7 and I did so I always look at that book with a big sense of pride.

Unapologetic Fangirl For:
Charlaine Harris, I have read 27 of her books and I always enjoy the time I spend with them. Are they the most amazing life changing books, no but who cares reading is not something that has to be pretentious and all about changing the world!

Very Excited for This Release More Than All the Others:
Cress the third book in The Lunar Chronicles Series by Marissa Meyer.

Worst Bookish Habit:
I start multiple books at a time and then forget them all over the house, each time I think only one book right Bailie but then I start another one!

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:
Well it was a old school book of Mr. H’s in Swedish so yeah I have no idea what it is!

Your latest book purchase:
I acquired quite a few books this summer but one that I am eagerly awaiting to read, well after it is shipped to me, is The Women by T.C. Boyle. I enjoy the unique he approaches his subjects and am excited to see this story unfold.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):
Beautiful Redemption as it was the last book in the Caster Chronicles Series I just needed the closure and then it took a few days to process it all since I read the whole series over the course of a week!

11 thoughts on “A to Z All About Books Survey

  1. Very cool questionnaire!! Loved this. I love reading and I love books, but I am such a slow reader! I feel I’ve read a disappointingly low amount of books in my lifetime considering I’m a literature major. More than anything else though, I have the worst memory and usually can’t remember titles/authors/characters…it’s very sad. I’m impressed with your reading skills! I’ve never understood how anyone can read more than one book at a time without confusing them.

  2. I am totally with you on your drink of choice. I love a good cup of tea. I tend to drink iced green tea in the summer and after workouts, but now that fall is setting in I’ll be switching to good earl greys with lots of cream and sugar in my big 18 ounce mug. Starbuck’s even makes a good early grey latte called the London Fog and it is heavenly. I love Charlaine Harris as well and I must admit the Stephanie Myer/Twilight series – the reader of the audio books makes the series inexplicably interesting. Neither of the series is going to give me the meaning of life, but it is great to indulge in for the heck of it.

  3. I think you have very similar taste in books – Charlaine Harris is very much my guilty secret, and makes up a chunk of my book shelf. I also love this list… I might do my own if that’s ok?
    I totally agree with you about books vs. kindles, but hubby has placed a moritorium on my book buying (but I can have as many kindle books as I like) so I’m going to be sneaking in a few recommendations from the above list, and the Immortal Devices you recommended to me on Twitter. Thanks!

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

