If I won the Lotto: From Sarah in the true Great White North

When you ask someone what they would do if they won the lotto it can turn out to be a very revealing question and for todays guest poster Sarah it revealed what I always thought, she is an amazing generous and thoughtful person!

Check out her blog Sarah on the Road for breathtaking pictures of her home in the cold cold Canadian wild!

lotto

If I had a million dollars…
First I’d like to say thank-you for letting me do a guest post here at The Hemborg Wife! I first came across your awesome blog the fall of 2011 when I did a photo-a-day challenge that you participated! I’ve enjoyed our conversations over the years.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
When I was in grade 7 or 8 I first heard If I had a Million Dollars by the Barenaked Ladies

By the time I was in Grade 9 “If I had a million dollars…” was a hit! So go ahead, listen to it… I’ll wait!

So I guess I should say that the songs brings back lots of memories of the 90s for me. It is also filled with heaps of references to Canadian pop culture. The thing I loved about that link I shared with you is that the words for the song were also printed on the you-tube channel. For anyone wanting to know KD = Kraft Dinner which is also known as Macaroni and Cheese in a box in the states.
So now that song got me thinking, what would I really do Ok so what would I do? Here are the top 5 things I’d do if I had a Million Dollars…

Help out with financial freedom for my immediate family (mum, brothers and sis-in-laws)…
This could mean different things for them…but I’d give them a gift of money to do what they want to do with it.

For my 2 nephews I’d give them money for their future education.

For me this means I would get to kick that debt weight off my shoulders a whole heck of a lot sooner than my current plans… that would be pretty awesome!

I’d give anonymous donations to a few of the charities I support. It would be anonymous because really it’s not about me giving…it’s about the programs receiving the money.

A few of my friends work with a few different organizations that help support vulnerable populations in downtown Toronto. Often these people are the forgotten people in our society, but I wouldn’t forget them.

I would want to help out the Early Childhood Field in Nunavut. This might look like offering money for existing programs to expand or renovate their buildings to be able to have more child care spaces available.
Probably some other charity donations as well…

Plan 3 trips to finish off my last 3 continents I need to visit:


Antarctica (with some time in Chile as well!)

Africa: There are many places I want to visit—it’s such a large continent, but I think I really want to see the Masai Mara National Reserve in Kenya, Victoria Falls which in sits on the border of Zimbabwe and Zambia and Cape Town, South Africa there are so many other places to see and visit! I think it might be a few trips or just one really, really long one!

Asia: not really sure 100% sure where I want to head…and I know that ‘Asia’ is a rather large continent! But I think some of the things I’d like to see and do are: a hike on the Great Wall of China, visiting India and Japan could also d be in the cards for some ideas for this trip!

Buy myself a cottage on the lake where I spent my summers as a kid at Haliburton Lake in Ontario.

No matter how far away I travel or live in different places…this is the place I always need to return to. It’s a spot to recharge my batteries connect with family and make more plans for the future.

I might geek-out a bit and upgrade my photography gear…and purchase some things I don’t have yet.

I’d also get a desktop (iMac) so editing wouldn’t have to be done on my MacBook pro.

To sum it all up, I’d be rich! (Well kind of because a $1,000,000 doesn’t really go that far these days…) I think basically I’d live life a little larger than I currently am living it now… because out of all of these things I am currently doing most of them just on a smaller scale and in a different way!

One thought on “If I won the Lotto: From Sarah in the true Great White North

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

