Blog Everyday in May – Finding Myself Again



Day 16, Thursday: Something difficult about your “lot in life” and how you’re working to overcome it

When I met Mr. H in 2008 I was living in London and pursuing my dreams and finding out who I was in a post-college world. Then we met and things became about getting Mr. H to America, and then we were engaged and life was about planning the wedding, and then it was about getting back to Sweden.

In all of that planning and going and doing it seemed I had become Bailie the visa helper, and Bailie the bride, and finally Bailie the immigrant but the regular Bailie was lost in all of that shuffle.

I gained weight, I had old out of style clothes, I had scraggly hair alongside of my awesome life and marriage.

But the the thing is for the awesome life and marriage to continue I realized I needed to take back what was me.

So I did the hardest thing for me ever and admitted out loud I needed to lose some weight.

(ahhhh typing it was even harder)

I did not take any before and after shots but pants that I used to not be able to button will button, zip, and I can sit down in them!

I have been doing a mixture of walks, and we live on the top of a valley so half the walk is always up hill, and aerobics.

I have ordered a few pieces of new clothes, like colored jeans so I do not feel like the old married lady when we go out.

I dyed my hair to the color maroon red it was back in 2008.

I have also started doing embroidery which I love and really embracing my love for cooking and thinking of it as a skill I possess rather than just something I do at night.

So I guess you could say the sun is coming out of the clouds in terms of me!

sun out of the clouds

13 thoughts on “Blog Everyday in May – Finding Myself Again

  1. I can relate to this. We’re about to move countries for the 4th time in 3 years and I definitely feel that I’ve lost a bit of myself in amongst the practical stuff i.e old wardrobe, extra weight etc. I’ve just started eating more healthily and making sure I exercise a little every day. I don’t want to do anything drastic, I just want to be good to myself and nurture the part of me that has been a bit neglected. A little bit of clothes shopping goes a long way, eh?!

  2. I can relate to this too – as I wait to be with my husband in the US my whole life has become about the visa process and the distance. I have gained a lot of weight and need to get myself organised regarding that as I want to feel like me again. I have never been slim so do not want to be something I am not – just me when I felt good about myself.

    Well done for getting back to ‘you’!

    Molly ♡

  3. I’m so glad I found your blog (through story of my life!) I grew up in Sweden- moved to the US when I was like 11, and my husband and son and I spent a semester studying abroad in Karlstad 3 years ago and we are trying desperately to move back! Can’t wait to read more about your life in sverige!

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

