Meals on Monday – Venison Cheeseburger Review

This week I was having trouble coming up with a concrete meal plan but this is what I think is going to happen and we will see!

Sunday –

 Pork Chops and Rice – Mr. H cooked this so it was a easy meal but still great

Monday

 Salmon with Pesto and Fresh Pasta

Tuesday

Meatballs and Spaghetti Noodles – Swedish Style – which means the noodles are served with Ketchup and Mustard as the sauce

Wednesday

Lemon Roasted Chicken with Rice and Gravy

Thursday

Honey BBQ Ramen

Friday

 Fish and Chips

***********************

At 6 Saturday night when we were already hungry for dinner Mr. H looked at me and asked if we had everything for making our venison cheeseburgers. The answer should have been yes since we had been grocery shopping that day but at that moment my stomach sunk. We did not have eggs and I had always made hamburgers with eggs in the past and looking at my really hungry husband I did not want to admit we might need another trip to the store. He could read my face in a minute that I thought we were missing something though and hopped online to look up some recipes. The things he was finding however were filled with ingredients like yogurt, jalapenos, and red onion which we definitely did not have. Feeling a bit desperate I pulled out the Joy of Cooking cookbook and breathed a big sigh of relief as their recipe plainly said to form the ground meat into patties season with salt and pepper then grill.

So that is what we did and ended up with great smelling and looking cheeseburgers. I had always used egg as I thought it made them stay together but these kept a patty shape fine and seemed like they were going to taste amazing.

Sadly though they were just not that great and the frozen french fries were better. Mr. H and I love the gamey taste of venison and have successfully used ground venison in other recipes and loved it but in a hamburger it was overpowering. When we thought with just going with the salt and pepper would be best for the meat it was wrong, there was a reason all those online recipes specifically for venison burgers had the additives.

The last nail in the coffin was when I talked to my dad last night via Skype and he said even hunters like himself add in jalapenos and even some ground beef to venison burgers to mellow out the flavor.

Lesson learned now and I have to say I think I prefer my hamburgers from a restaurant anyways!

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

