Öl Thursdays – What to Buy and What to Avoid From Around The World

Last Friday we were in a partying mood and set off to Systembolaget with one goal in mind coming home with a large variety of beer for our own little tasting party. We came home with 10 beers for 165 kr or $25 which I thought was a good deal  just showing how long I have been in Sweden.

Some of these you may of had or some you might not even be able to buy where you live but at least one should be avoided at all cost!

From left to right:

Name: Sierra Nevada

Country of Origin: America

Alcohol Percentage: 5.6%

Cost: 22.90 Kr / 335 ml bottle

Yay or Nay: Yay all the way! If you like Pale Ales this is a must try and would be great with some BBQ chicken.

 

Name: Mariestads Old Ox

Country of Origin: Sweden

Alcohol Percentage: 6.9%

Cost: 16.90 Kr / 500 ml bottle

Yay or Nay: Yay for a great brewery! When you are looking for a beer that tastes smooth but high in alcohol content this is a great choice, and I really recommend all of Mariestads beers as they are a great brewery.

 

Name: Hofbräu Original

Country of Origin: Germany

Alcohol Percentage: 5.1%

Cost: 14.90 Kr / 500 ml bottle

Yay or Nay: Yay for old and young (well drinking age) alike! Growing up my papa had a stein from them and I love being able to have a beer now that I know my papa had over 40 years ago in Germany. The taste is great and light and I would think a perfect introduction to German beer.

 

Name: Zlatopramen

Country of Origin: Czech Republic

Alcohol Percentage: 4.9%

Cost: 16.00 Kr / 500 ml bottle

Yay or Nay: Yay for days! Mr. H recommended I try this one as I was in the mood for some lighter beers and I was in love! If you like a classic American beer but find them lacking at times this is for you, it was all that is great with Czech beer in it that has been copied the world over.

 

Name: Nils Oscar India Ale

Country of Origin: Sweden

Alcohol Percentage: 5.3%

Cost: 18.90 Kr / 330 ml bottle

Yay or Nay: Yay ! Mr. H loves IPA’s and is always willing to spend the little extra to grab a Nils Oscar one.

 

Name: Innis & Gunn Oak Aged Beer

Country of Origin: Scotland

Alcohol Percentage: 6.6%

Cost: 19.90 Kr / 330 ml bottle

Yay or Nay: Nay Nay Nay Nay! I love a nice dark beer and the description on this one sounded so good with carmelly accents and the like but it was bad, well bad since I wanted to drink a beer not 330 ml of whiskey. Honestly when I poured it the smell made my tummy churn a bit and then it was like drinking a too strong mixed drink. I finished it but will never buy it again.

Name: Maresdous 6 Blonde

Country of Origin: Belgium

Alcohol Percentage: 6.0%

Cost: 18.20 Kr / 330 ml bottle

Yay or Nay: Yay for Belgium beers! Mr. H got this one since all beer on our trip to Belgium were so good and he bought a variety pack of this brewery in the airport on the way home. This is a great introduction to Belgium beer I think since it does not have so much of the overpowering accents some Belgium beers have.

 

Name: Lapin Kulta

Country of Origin: Finland

Alcohol Percentage: 5.2%

Cost: 13.40 Kr / 500 ml can

Yay or Nay: Yay for good priced beer! This is my current favorite cheap beer, it has a light citrusy taste that is great and is very smooth. I always get at least one when we go to Systembolaget.

 

Name: Bellman 6.0

Country of Origin: Sweden

Alcohol Percentage: 6.0%

Cost: 13.30 Kr / 500 ml can

Yay or Nay: Yay! This was a new beer to me and it was good but not sure if I would go out of my way to have it again.

 

Name: Cheap Thrills

Country of Origin: Sweden

Alcohol Percentage: 4.6%

Cost: 6.90 Kr / 330 ml can

Yay or Nay: Yay for awesomeness! I love this beer for three reasons; it is cheap, it has an awesome name, and comes in a small can. Most beers come in the large 500 ml cans which I think you really need to pour into a glass to fully enjoy but there is something really comforting to me about drinking a beer out of a small can. I plan on drinking lots of these this summer!

Your Thoughts

