Meals On Monday – Teriyaki Chicken Stir Fry

November 20-26 Meal Plan

This week in my cloud (food I have that needs to be used up) I had beef stew meat and chicken thighs

Sunday –  Chicken Ramen

Monday – Austrian Bratwurst on rolls with grilled bell pepper and onion, fried potatoes

Tuesday – Enchiladas

Wednesday – Chile con Carne with rice

Thursday – Thanksgiving – roasted chicken (since it will just be the two of us), green bean casserole, stuffing, mashed potatoes

Friday – Chicken Tortilla Soup

Saturday – Leftovers

If there is a meal here that sounds good let me know and I can do a recipe write up about it!

****************************************************************************************************************************

Recipe Review:

Wagamama Chicken Teriyaki Stir Fry with Hemborg Family changes

Ingredients:

9 oz chicken breast – that meant to me one large and one small chicken breast – I do not weigh my meat!

1 red chilli finely sliced

1 tsp garlic paste – Mr. H made this and I am not sure how and if it was me I would probably buy it

4 tbsp teriyaki – We did make this and it was easy and yummmmmmm – recipe at bottom

4 oz bean sprouts – We did this as a medium handful per person

1/2 red onion thickly sliced – I think it could have used more since our onion was on the small side

1/2 red bell pepper – I used the whole thing since bell pepper is so heavenly

3 oz pak choi – We could not find this at our store

pinch of salt

pinch of sugar – This sounded weird to me but we did it and it tasted good so what do I know!

1 green onion finely sliced on the diagonal – Mr. H thought that sounded so silly but still did it and it looked pretty!

What to do:

Cut the chicken into bite size pieces and marinate in teriyaki, chilli,  and garlic paste for about 2 hours, I just put it all in a pyrex mixing bowl put the lid on and shook it real good. I think we marinated for only 1 1/2 hrs and it could have used more so planning ahead is key for this recipe!

Heat wok or large frying pan if you are wokless like us for 1-2 minutes until the pan is completely hot then add 2 tbsp vegetable oil. Add chicken plus marinade and cook until meat is golden, I would suggest adding the meat and get it going then add in the marinade as when we just poured it all in at once it took awhile for the meat to brown.

Once meat is to your liking add in bean sprouts, red onion, bell pepper and pak choi, cooking for about two minutes then season with salt and sugar.

Serve over rice topped with the green onions!

Teriyaki Recipe:

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 cup water

1 tsp fresh grated ginger – if you do not like pieces in your sauce make sure you mince this very finely

3 tbsp brown sugar

1 minced garlic clove – same note as the ginger

2 tbsp corn starch dissolved in 1/4 cup cold water

What to do:

Combine water, soy sauce, brown sugar, garlic, and ginger in a sauce pan, bring to a boil stirring constantly

Add corn starch mixture to pan

Continue stirring until the sauce thickens to desired consistency

This recipe made us a pint of sauce and we have used the extra over rice and it is delicious.

One thought on “Meals On Monday – Teriyaki Chicken Stir Fry

  1. this looks very yummie! can’t wait to make this one! looks good on the white plate, no Desert Rose? it doesn’t look like it needs the pak choi, but I will include it, but you didn’t say, do you chop it or something? and that sauce sound so good, but this will all have to wait until after Thanksgiving. :( if I can wait that long.

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

