Meals on Monday – Hemborg Ragu

Hello welcome to week two of Meals On Monday, this week is a day short of a meal since we will do our shopping on Saturday so I am waiting to see the ads and what is on special!

In other news there was no Sunday post this week because I was feeling poorly. I had one “being sick” moment and that really did me in for the day, I am such a baby when it comes to stuff like that but I think it was the cumulation of me feeling ill last week.

November 13-18 Meal Plan

This week in my cloud (food I have that needs to be used up) I had frozen broccoli and frozen shrimp

Sunday –  Pizza since I was feeling poorly

Monday – Broccoli Cheese Soup

Tuesday – Chicken Jalapeño Casserole

Wednesday – Shrimp Pasta Surprise ( I am home alone that night so we will see what I come up with)

Thursday – Chicken Stir Fry with Homemade Teriyaki

Friday – Portuguese Cod, Fried Potatoes, and Green Beans (we are having a dinner party)

If there is a meal here that sounds good let me know and I can do a recipe write up about it!

****************************************************************************************************************************

Recipe Review

Last week after having the shrimp alfredo Mr. H was not really feeling having shrimp again, so on Friday I was trying to decide what to do with a pound of mince (that is ground meat, I call it mince as that is what the English call it and what my husband new before he met me) beef. I figured a spaghetti dish was the way to go since I had all the other ingredients on hand and it is a comforting meal on a cold day. I pulled out the cookbooks and decided I would use Mario Batali’s Ragu Bolognese as a rough guide and came up with a great, easy, cheaper version that would be great for lasagnas and pasta bakes too.

Hemborg Ragu

Ingredients:

1 diced onion

2 diced carrotts

3 garlic cloves

1 lb mince – I used beef since that is what I had on hand but pork would work too

4 pieces bacon cut into pieces

6 0z tomato puree

1/2 cup whole milk

1/3 cup white wine vinegar

squeeze tomato paste to taste

thyme to taste

What to Do:

Heat olive oil in heavy bottomed pot

Once oil is hot sauté onion, carrot, and garlic till translucent but not browned

Turn heat to high and add mince and bacon, cook until browned

Add the remaining ingredients, stir and bring to a boil

Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer stirring occasionally an hour

Season with salt and pepper and serve with spaghetti and parmesan for a hearty winter meal

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Meals on Monday – Hemborg Ragu

  1. Proof I’m the pickiest eater alive… I’d only survive pizza night at your place. And that’s as long as it was something boring! PS I LOVE the name Hemborg Ragu… if I ever make it I’m using that name! Sounds official :)

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

