AK – Astor Kensington Love

I realized that I have not told the story of how Mr. Hemborg and I met which would make my blog less random. To make the story of how we met less random though this story needs to be told first.

It was July of 2008 (my 23rd birthday to be exact) and I arrived in London from staying at friends in Sweden with a work visa. I had the visa on a now debunk program through BUNAC. Side note BUNAC is an awesome company and if you want to experience working out of the country they have great programs and support.

I had arranged a few nights to stay at Astor Hyde Park Hostel, which is beautifully renovated and great if you are looking for a more relaxed atmosphere. I also had an orientation booked with BUNAC and thought I would be employed and living in a flat in no time. Well my time at Astor Hyde Park ran out with no job or flat in sight. They also were booked up as it was the middle of summer so I transferred over to Astor Kensington, also known as AK, to bide my time.

The AK Group at The Notting Hill Carnival

Well at AK there were amazing people living there from all over the world and they loved to party as much as me. I quickly fell into rhythm with the rag tag group of people living in the hostel. I was employed by August but all aspirations to live in a flat were gone as I moved into what was called a weekly room.

Out of everyone I had the most legitimate job, a Monday to Friday 9-5 property management drone, but that was the only legitimate thing of my life. I lived in a room with nine other people; 1 Swedish guy, 1 South African girl, 3 South African guys, 1 Australian guy, 1 Canadian guy and then me. It sounds super crazy but it worked perfectly, we had our own little mini fridge, a few dressers that we divided up, and a sink.

The Swedish guy that lived below me worked as a bartender and therefore was always getting home in the wee hours of the morning. I was drinking a lot and often up going to bed at the wee hours of the morning so as our schedules collided we formed a friendship of sitting in the emergency stairwell and winding down before bed.

Now this Swedish guy is not Mr. Hemborg, but because of him and one other Swedish guy at the AK I would meet Mr. Hemborg.

That story is a whole post in of itself but now it will make much more sense when I get around to writing it! I also have millions of stories from my time in the hostel which ended up being 3 1/2 months which I am sure will be told over time.

Also if you have any questions about traveling or hostels please let me know!!

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

