Sunday Social – Throwback Edition – 1999-2003

1. What were you like in Middle School/HS?
I went to a k-8 Catholic School so I do not really think of myself as having a middle school experience. For high school I decided to go to a school that no one I knew went to and changed so much.
Freshman year I joined the theatre group but quit when the guy who was a sophomore and on the leading guys in the group dumped after the school year by first lying to me that he was going out of town then actually showing up at my house with his two best friends and saying he did not like. As you can see I wanted to get as far away from him as possible so theatre was done!
Then my junior year I found a group of 5 guys that I got along with great and with a couple girlfriends along the way we stayed close through college.
(These are pictures from circa 2001-2003 a friend uploaded to Facebook a couple years ago since all mine are currently packed)
High School graduation – June 2003
I am on the right and funnily enough this girl also lives in Sweden now!
This was in our senior year and I am wearing my favorite Urban Outfitters shirt that said “Somebody in California Loves Me” and my creepers I had since 8th grade graduation. This was taken at a place called The Manor House, which was my friends ex boyfriends house he lived in with four other guys. They would have huge parties and we could just hide in the corner and steal beers and no one would notice!
This is prom senior year my grandma made my silver wrap and I wore a Betsy Johnson knee length dress. Our school did not allow dancing, yes like in Footloose, so it was at The Hyatt Newporter and started like a cocktail party minus the alcoholic drinks and then we had a full sit down dinner with entertainment. Looking back it was like going to a wedding without there being a wedding and was really fun.
I am peaking out of the back in this one taken at my friends parents ranch. This was the summer in between junior and senior year and my hair is unexplainably blonde which to this day my mom harps on me going back to!
This weekend there was 5 guys and 5 girls at the ranch and we had midnight capture the flag games in the pistachio fields and all sorts of other things I am sure those involved would like to leave of the internet!
Here I am already showing my love of buns! In the spring of my senior year my mom was complaining that my group of friends was always just hanging around eating her food and that we should actually do something. The funny thing was she had no idea we would actually take her up on this and she was left with phone calls from parents saying did she really say I could go camping for the weekend with my friends and no parents! Luckily she got everyones parents on board and we went down to a campsite about an hour away on the beach and had such a fun weekend laying out and drinking!
2.  What were your favorite past times?
If you could not tell from the pictures unfortunately academics were not a high priority for me in high school and I could mostly be found either at the beach, eating or watching the guys play basketball!
3. What songs were you obsessed with?
I remember listening to tons of Lincoln Park, Sublime, and Tenacious D. We were really into Sublime and at one point I could sign their self titled album start to finish from memory. Also my best friend and I were really into Jack Johnson and went down to San Diego to see him twice.
4. What fashion statement do you look back on and cringe?
I wore a lot of tight jeans, platform shoes, and shirts that showed my belly. I would not want any daughter I have to dress like I did but I have to say now that I am older I am kinda glad I did it when I could!
5. Who was your celeb crush?
My best friend and I were really into Benecio del Toro for some reason and we also loved to watch Dude, Wheres My Car? so I guess Ashton Kutcher was too!
6. What were your favorite tv shows/movies?
My best friend’s parents house had the best couches for watching TV on hungover Sunday’s and and her younger sister was about 4 so we would watch cartoons with her! I also remember going to see Orange County in the movie theatre and loving it!
3 thoughts on “Sunday Social – Throwback Edition – 1999-2003

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

