Preparing for Our First Married Christmas

Mr. H has had the last three and a half days off from work and we have been Christmasing it up! On Monday he surprised me with Christmas beers, fancy English cheese, and sausage!

 

Then on Tuesday we played about 5 games of Scrabble and watched The Office DVD’s and ate popcorn. On Wednesday we went to town for coffee and bought even more cheese and sausage! The grocery store in town is also being remodeled so we did some grocery shopping in the dark which I found hilarious.

 

Now Mr. H is back at work for the night and I can do some WEverb catching up!

#20 How has technology affected your life (positively or negatively) in 2011? Do you want this to continue for 2012?

I think that technology has positively affected my life this past year for a few reasons. The main one being that I feel so lucky to be an immigrant in this day and age where it is so easy to keep up with friends and family from home. I can easily see what my little brothers are up to via Facebook and Twitter keeps me up to date with family, friends and news that may take longer to get here.

For 2012 I plan on mastering Skype so I can face to face chat with everyone at home and feel even more connected.

#21 The butterfly effect posits that a small change can ripple across whole ecosystems. Who do you credit for the small action that made all the difference in your life this year?

I would say the lovely the lady that was working at the Swedish Consulate in San Diego made a huge difference to us this year. She answered a million emails from Mr. H on my application and calmed our nerves when we were puzzled on what was going on. A few times we even received replies when we emailed her at night which amazed me and she really made it seem like Sweden was on our side for me moving.

#22 What is one thing you want to do before you bid adieu to 2011? How will you make it happen?

With what is left of this year I want to savor each moment of our first Christmas as a married couple. As I said above we have been trying to do extra things this week we would not normally do and it has been so fun. We also are trying to start traditions that are family will be doing for years to come which we are having so much fun with.

Other then that I want to continue our tradition of having a nice dinner at home and playing board games on New Years Eve instead of going out and spending money on a night that never lives up to its expectations!

Merry Christmas from The Hemborg’s just in case I do not get to blogging till the 26th!

 

 


2 thoughts on “Preparing for Our First Married Christmas

  1. Those cheeses and sausages look great, and it sounds like you’ve been having fun at home with Mr. H.

    I love the idea of starting new traditions. You’re so right – NYE seems like amateur hour where people overpay and get too drunk to remember ringing in the new year at all. I love staying home and being with a few people and enjoying the evening and the year’s memories together.

  2. Hope you had a fantastic Christmas in Sweden. Making new traditions for you and your Mr, because isn’t that what Christmas is about? Spending time with ones you love…doing things you love! :) Merry Christmas! :) Sarah

Comments? Questions? Let me know and I will respond!

